Darjeeling Himalayan Railway

Darjeeling Himalayan Railway

A UNESCO World Heritage Site

PNR Reservation Status Check

PNR stands for “passenger name record” and it tells you your current status on the Waitlist (WL) or Reservation Against Cancellation (RAC) queue. If you buy a WL ticket or an RAC ticket, you will be assigned a unique 10-digit PNR number.

PNR Status is the status of your booking. It tells you whether your ticket is confirmed, wait listed, reserved, etc.

When do I need to know my PNR status?

It is quite common for a reservation ticket on Indian Railways to be issued on a Waitlist. To find out whether your ticket is confirmed you need to check your current PNR Status. You can easily do this online at http://www.irctc-pnr-status.com 

To see the current status of your train ticket on the IRCTC booking system waitlist, just use the form at the top of their homepage.

Checking Indian Railways PNR status

There are three ways to check your PNR status:

  • Online via your PC
  • Via SMS service
  • Via a smartphone app

Online via your PC

The easiest way to check your PNR status is to submit a request to the IRCTC reservation website www.irctc-pnr-status.com or on official Indian Railways website.

Via SMS service:

Check your PNR status by sending an SMS in one of the following formats:

  • your 10-digit PNR number to 139
  • your 10-digit PNR number to 5676747

Note : the correct format of the sms text is ‘9876543210’ (this is a sample number – you should use your unique PNR number). Note that you just need to type your 10-digit PNR number.

Via a smartphone app

Using smartphone apps to check PNR status Internet-connected smartphones and tablets are commonly used so we have listed the following helpful apps for checking your PNR status. For Android apps, one of the best is “PNR status app“, which you can download from the Google Play store.


Understanding your ticket and WL number of PNR status

On your ticket, there are two numbers. They tell you the position at which you joined the waitlist and your current position – in that order.

For example: You are booking a ticket online (Indian Railway, IRCTC, etc) and find the train and class/seat that you want along with the date and time. Although there is no confirmed seat available, at the end of the reservation process you buy a ticket marked “WL5/WL2”. In this example you joined the WL at position 5, but by the time you actually bought the ticket online you moved to position 2 (due either to a cancellation or to someone not making a final booking). The first number will always stay the same – it indicates when you JOINED the queue. The second number will decrease until you get a ticket (hopefully).

Your railway reservation could look like:

  • WL 5/WL 2 (this is your starting position)
  • WL 5/WL 1
  • WL 5/RAC 3
  • WL 5/RAC 2
  • WL 5/RAC 1
  • WL 5/CNF
  • WL 5/WL 2 = Waitlist ticket: you cannot board the train.

WL 5/RAC 3 = RAC ticket: you are allowed to board the train, but without a specific seat number – speak with the Train Ticket Examiner on the platform.

WL 5/CNF = Confirmed ticket: you can board the train and will have a specific seat number.

WL and RAC refunds

If your train is ready for departure and its reservation chart is finalized, the cost of your WL ticket (ie there is still no seat available) will be automatically refunded to your bank account.

NOTE: There can be significant movement on the waitlist on the very last day, so you may get an RAC status at the last minute. In such a case, you will not get a refund as an RAC is actually a boarding ticket.

Director / DHR
Elysia Place
Kurseong, Dist. Darjeeling
West Bengal, India - 734 203

[email protected]
[email protected]

Director / DHR
Camp Office, Siliguri NG LOCO Shed
P.O. Pradhan Nagar
Siliguri Jn, Dist - Darjeeling
West Bengal, India-734003

[email protected]
[email protected]
All Rights Reserved [Darjeeling Himalayan Railway].
Website Design and Development Service Provided By Techno Developers Group